Hero Arts Scramble 157

Hero Arts Scramble 157

The challenge for Scramble #157 is “Frame It”.  LaVon asked us to use a frame or framing technique as part of our creation. LaVon was the host for this Scramble and she showed a card made by Jacqueline that she received a few years back and one that she made and they were both very nice so mine was made from this inspiration.

Here is my card and I went over the 90 minute time frame some.. what’s new. Whenever I use a layered stamp I have to stamp it many times to practice the lining up and get the color combo I want. So when will I learn not to use those during the Scrambles. I think I spent at least 2/3 of the time stamping over and over to come up with the right color combo and have the layers lined up nice.

Anyway.. I first put down three different Distress Oxide green inks on watercolor paper that I wet first. I used Cracked Pistachio, Peeled Paint and Twisted Citron. I set that aside to dry. The first one didn’t come out right so this is number two.

Then I spent quite awhile stamping the bird. Stored with the stamp set was a die set so I thought great just die cut that bird. Well I just noticed that the die set I put in the same plastic sleeve was not even the one that matched this stamp set. Ha jokes on me. So I hand cut the bird. The stamp set I used is Color Layering Bird (CL866). The die is for the Color Layering Dimensional Bird. Oops! Now I need to get that stamp set. The inks I used on the bird was Color Box Chalk Dark Peony, Colorcube Heliotrope, Distress Ink Seedless Preserves.

The branch is by Tessler (DCL019) and I altered it after die cutting. There was a swirl at the end of the branch and I cut of one grouping of leaves and a single leaf so the bird could sit there. I colored the branch with Oxide inks Peeled Paint and Frayed Burlap.

The sentiment is from a set by Simon Says Stamp called Birthday Messages (SSS101391) stamped with Memories black ink. It is stamped more crooked than I would like it to be.

The circle frame is from Rubbernecker Stamps Freehand Border Circle (955) and also stamped with the Memories ink.

3 thoughts on “Hero Arts Scramble 157

  1. Please be kinder to yourself – this is a beautiful card! I’m SO impressed with all you go through to find the perfect result…and it is perfect. I wish there were classes in my area – west of Chicago. You would think that some store would offer detailed classes in paper crafting. There used to be a store called Archivers where I attended several classes but for some reason they aren’t open anymore. So I just keep on trying to make my cards better as I go along. Thanks for sharing your designs.

    Like

    • Thanks so much Chris. I heard Archivers closed. If you have a decent amount of supplies check out the Online Card Classes. They are reasonably priced and they show plenty of things for each class. I rarely go buy anything for their classes. I do have a lot but I make do most of the time for the classes or once in a great while just skip over something.

      Like

Leave a Reply

