Glittery & Plaid Thank You’s

Plaid Thank You's

So this is kind of the start of making a whole bunch of thank you cards. I was trying things that I saw online, trying new things I had and trying to use up the bunches of stuff I have set aside. For these cards I got a Sizzix die recently called Thank You Drop-ins designed by Stephanie Barnard. The two pink cards were for my friends who walked with me to raise money for the fight against breast cancer. Most of my thank you’s are going to people who donated for the fundraiser.

Here is our outfits for the walk. The theme was Pearls of Wisdom so we decided to dress like Minnie Pearl. The deal with this walk is everyone wears a decorated bra on the outside of their clothes. The first year my friends and I felt weird doing that but quickly realized everyone does and we were the weird ones for not having one.

So back to the cards. With this die you cut out the back of the card and a front panel that folds all at once. You have to get two die pieces lined up really well so that you have a fold and things are looking ok. Hard to explain but it takes some lining up. The next layer you cut is the hearts and a panel that goes on top of the base. I liked the idea of having different colored components for the different parts of the card. On the right and left card I also glued a colored piece of paper on the back piece which is not part of the die but when I looked at cards online most did that and I liked that look. The purple base does not have that added piece.

Left card – I cut the heart panel out of some pink glitter paper. I cut some hearts from pink paper and inlaid those. A few hearts have glossy accents or clear Nuvo on them. The thank you is part of the die set and cut from a glittery pink plaid which is kind of hard to see in the photo.

Middle card – Pretty straight forward. No hearts inlaid. I used plaid paper from a Lawn Fawn pad to cut out that heart panel.

Right card – I made a plaid piece of paper by using Oxide ink and a stencil by Carta Bella. I then cut out that heart panel. I cut some hearts and the thank you from glitter paper. The hearts got inlaid as you can see. A funny thing happened though. I did not notice at first that the two glitter papers did not match. They were supposed to be the same paper but I didn’t pay close attention. Ooops! I just went with it anyway.

 

One thought on “Glittery & Plaid Thank You’s

Leave a Reply

