Distress Oxide Silhouettes

Distress Oxides Silhouette

For this card I pretty much made the same card I saw on the Ranger blog. I don’t usually copy so closely but I really liked the cards and I thought it would be fun to follow along and do the fun steps. It was fun!

The panel is a couple of passes on putting down Distress Oxide inks on my craft mat and spraying with water and putting the mixed media paper on it and then letting it dry. I dropped some water drops on it too. The inks I used were Worn Lipstick, Fossilized Amber, Spiced Marmalade. I spritzed a stencil with water and put that down on the Oxide ink. I used a couple stencils to ink through here and there. The stencils were Tim Holtz Gothic, Latticework and Speckles. I think I also dripped a bit of  Tattered Angels Glimmer Mist. I also stamped over the panel with a Heidi Swapp stamp called Script with Sepia Archival Ink. Around the edges and some of the stenciling was done with Vintage Photo Oxide ink.

The silhouette plants are cut with dies from Memory Box – Strewsbury Stem. I cut this apart. I also used Hero Arts Spring Branch die and Memory Box Eva Stem.

The butterfly was cut with a punch from EK Success from a similar panel to the background. I did not have enough background left so I created a little piece just to cut out butterflies. The butterfly has foam tape under each wing.

The part I really struggled on was the strip with the thanks cut out. My dies were to big to use the die cut word or the negative space plus I was having trouble getting to a color that I liked for the strip of paper. I finally cut the thanks out with my cameo and inked the paper with Distress Oxide inks.

What I really like about this card is I got to use several Distress Oxide inks. Ok I liked a lot of things. Like I said it was fun and I am very happy how it turned out. I learned that you don’t have to use a whole image either from a stencil or stamp and you don’t have to clearly see each thing stamped or stenciled but all the layers look nice. My brain just doesn’t think this way but when I follow along and see how it goes then it clicks with me. Thanks to Ranger and Richele for a great tutorial.

One thought on “Distress Oxide Silhouettes

Leave a Reply

