Hero Arts Scramble 155

Arlene hosted our 24 hour Scramble starting yesterday morning. We have 90 minutes to create a card and post it in Flickr. The theme for Scramble 155 was pop up something on your card and die cut/punch out something.

Hero Arts Scramble 155

I started the background by putting down Oxide ink on my craft mat. I used Faded Jeans, Cracked Pistachio, and Broken China. I sprayed water on the inks and put watercolor paper down on it. I did this a couple of times drying each layer with my heat gun. I was trying to stamp the seaweed and coral at the bottom with just water but that wasn’t working. So I used the same Oxide inks to stamp them which I like. They are there but on the subtle side. I stamped the big seahorse with Avery Elle inks Fizz and Mimosa and Versa Magic ink Red Brick.  I have a book where I stamped pretty much all my inks and it really helps to look at that to pick out the inks for a project. I hand cut out the seahorse. The seahorse became the die cut element because I forgot about that important part. The seahorse is raised as you can see. The smaller seahorses are stamped with Avery Elle inks. The bubbles are stamped with Chipped Sapphire Distress ink and then filled in with Nuvo Clear Drops. The sentiment is from Altenew set Painted Greetings and stamped with the Chipped Sapphire ink. This is the first time I used the Color Layering Seahorse set. I am just going to say this is not my favorite card. It needs something so I may alter it some or maybe just move on.
Hero Arts sets used – Color Layering Seahorse (CL956), Set Sail BG (CL842), July 2016 My Monthly Hero kit. It’s nice because all of these have a sea theme you can use together.

Leave a Reply

