Mixed Media – Hiking Boards

This is the board when I first got it and starting the altering process. I got a good sale price at Hobby Lobby.
I made it quite some time ago so let’s see if I can remember what I did. I painted with either gesso or white paint. Probably gesso. I added some printed tissue by Tim Holtz, stamped with some Hero Arts stamps, stenciled with embossing paste that I added some color to. I painted the wood bird and added some gesso over that to give it a washed look. There is also a bee charm on it. I added an extra piece of cork so that the pins would lay flat. The cork that was on the board originally was too thin. The boots at the bottom I took off a card my hub gave me. The photos are of my hiking group, my hub, dog and me, my son and me. All are taken at parks in the East Bay Regional Park system which is my favorite trails to hike on and a great park system. Every year since I participate in a trail challenge. All you have to do is hike 26 miles for the entire year and you get a pin. ┬áIt was lot’s of fun to make and I am very happy with the way it turned out.

 

Just recently I wanted an additional board for pins from the East Bay Regional Parks so I made this one. This was easier since it started with the flat white paint. I added a piece of cork in the middle again for having a deeper piece so the pins go all the way in. I used several Hero Arts stamps on this also along with a stencil and embossing paste.

Stamps used: Hero Arts Leaf Clusters (CL477), WPlus9 Fanciful Feathers, Inkadinkado Meadow, Hero Arts Antique Flowers and Butterfly (657773).

6 thoughts on “Mixed Media – Hiking Boards

Leave a Reply

