County Fair Cards

IMG_1552 IMG_1429B

My son mentioned quite awhile back that I should enter some cards at our local county fair. He brought it up again recently since our fair is coming up next month. I decided why not try it out. So I registered for the birthday category and the holiday category. This would be my first time doing this. The floral card I made for entering at the fair specifically. The Christmas card I made recently for Merry Monday and for just making Christmas cards ahead of time. It was some pressure for me since I think I need to make the perfect card. I had plenty of time but I am particular about what I make for something like that. So I finally got it done and got it turned in with plenty of time to spare (not last minute like usual).  We will see how I do when I actually go to the fair.

So for the birthday card I embossed the background with a Cuttlebug embossing folder called divine swirl. The purple strip is watercolor painted on watercolor paper using Gansai Tambi paint. It took me a few times and colors to get it looking how I wanted. The flowers are stamped with a Hero Arts stamp called Small Striped Flower (CG256) and embossed with Ranger Queen’s Gold powder, which seems to be the gold I use the most. I colored the flowers with Copics. The centers of the flowers is done with Nuvo Crystal Drops in Dandelion Yellow. The greeting is embossed with the same gold powder and is from a Hero Arts set Many Everyday Messages (CL954).

For details on the Christmas card see this post.

Leave a Reply

