Online Card Classes – Backgrounds

I am finally getting back to one of the OCC classes called Backgrounds. They are always really good classes and you can access them forever. I don’t finish most of them so I am trying to go back and learn and do the projects. Here are  some backgrounds I just did.

RSIMG_1515

The first panel on the left was an interesting one. You take patterned paper and stamp an image (the flowers) and emboss with clear embossing powder. You then go over the whole piece with dark ink which in this case is dark blue. You then wipe the ink off the embossed areas and this is what you have. I like it! I need to get a few more background stamps with bigger stamped areas. Ok maybe that is just an excuse to buy more stamps. The flowers are a The Ton background stamp called Rose Terrace and Hero Arts ink Navy.

The middle panel is inking with Distress ink medium to light. Then you clear emboss over that. Then you ink again and wipe the ink off the embossing so the lighter ink from the first inking shows under the clear embossing. I still kind of struggle to blend Distress Inks. The background stamp is a Stampin Up stamp. The ink is Shabby Shutters and Mowed Lawn Distress inks.

The panel on the right is stamped very light with a background stamp.  Then you repeat stamp with several different colors of in to end up with a ombre look. The misti was very helpful for this card. It kept the panel in one place and it was a must for lining up all that text. The sentiment is from Hero Arts set YAY! (CL752). I used Hero Arts purple inks and maybe one from another company.

RSIMG_1517

These two are the same technique. You stamp in white pigment first and then stamp over that with dye ink moving the stamp over just a bit on the second layer. It looks pretty cool when you get the right paper. I really like the hearts panel. On the arrows panel it is hard to see the white. The hearts are an Inkadinkadoo set Hearts (97637). The white ink is Hero Arts Unicorn pigment ink and the red is a Hero Arts red from a My Monthly Hero set. The arrows I am not sure what company they are from.

RSIMG_1520 RSIMG_1521

These are all the same technique and the opposite of the panels above. You stamp the first layer with dye ink and then stamp over it with white pigment ink. The doilies are from a Papertrey Ink set Delightful Doilies. The shapes on the second panel are from a Hero Arts set Not Perfect (CL698). For all the blues I used Hero Arts inks and the white is most likely Hero Arts Unicorn. I like the way the two gray panels turned out but I am not to crazy about the kraft panel. I don’t think the kraft panel is the right color for this or I should have used different inks.

IMG_1523

I found two more panels I forgot. That’s what happens when you clean off your desk. The one on the right is ink blending over pattern. Laura Bassen did ink blending over plaid but I did not have stamps like she used so I did ink over another pattern which is from Avery Elle set All Squared Up.  I used a gray colored ink to stamp the pattern and then used Distress Ink over that. The background on the left is one I just came up with after using that Avery Elle pattern stamp. I am not sure of the inks I used for it.

All of these were fun to try!

One thought on “Online Card Classes – Backgrounds

Leave a Reply

