Balloon Birthday

IMG_1194

I was making a card for someone, trying to go away from feminine and trying to make this for the Simon Says Stamp challenge in Flickr. For challenge 43 the theme is ink blending. I got out the Simon Says Stamp stencils called Balloons & Patterns. I was trying to blend some inks and put a pattern over the balloons but that wasn’t looking right. So for the big balloon I blended 4 different Distress inks. For the other two balloons I used the blending tool to apply 2 of the 4 Distress inks on them. I hand cut all of the balloons. I added the little touch of white on the balloons with a white Wink of Stella pen. The strings are hand drawn. I had one background in mind but that wasn’t looking right so I happen to see this laying on my table and thought it worked nice for this card. For the sentiment I used the Simon Says Stamp stamp set and the matching die called More Sketchy Banner Greetings. I watercolored some watercolor paper, cut it out with the SSS die and then stamped the sentiment with Versafine ink in Onyx Black which I recently got and really like. For the watercolor background I embossed it first with an embossing folder called Quilted by Sizzix and then watercolored that.

I am entering this in the Simon Says Stamp Flickr Challenge 53.

Leave a Reply

