Easter Eggs – Nature & Food Coloring

 

IMG_0683 IMG_0680

Guess which are created from nature things and which ones are dyed with food coloring. Ha!

Since we were out of town for Easter weekend I did my eggs after the fact.

The nature egg coloring is something I saw done on the internet (of course). Isn’t that where we see most things these days? The nature eggs are colored with purple cabbage and onion skins. Here is what you do. If you have any questions just ask.

  1. Find some smaller leaves and flowers. I used some oak leaves and a few small fern leaves. Kind of sturdy works better. I had some holly leaves but they are too thick and not so bendable. The flowers also have to be somewhat sturdy. On one egg in my photo which looks kind of blue I used just a couple petals.
  2. The egg prep – You lay the flowers or leaves as flat as you can against the egg. Then you take a piece of nylons (like the old school knee highs) and wrap them tight over the flower/leaf and egg and tie at each end or some my have a toe end so you will only need to tie that one on one end. The flowers/leaves move around some while you are trying to get the nylon tight so that is why you need something kind of sturdy and it is a challenge to keep them where you want them.
  3. The veggie prep – put the onion skins or purple cabbage or beets kind of broken up in a bowl that will fit some eggs, the onion skins and hot water so the eggs are all under the water.
  4. Boil some water.
  5. Nestle the eggs down in the bowl with the veggies surrounding them. Separate bowls for each veggie type.
  6. Pour the hot water over it all.
  7. Let it cool and then refrigerate overnight.
  8. Take all the stuff off the eggs and there you have it. I was surprised the coloring from the purple cabbage wasn’t darker. I really like how the onion skin coloring came out.

I didn’t know I was going to share this so I didn’t take photos of the eggs with the nylons on them. Wish I would have.

The eggs with food coloring I just dropped it on two of them. The dark bluish egg I put in a cup with oil, food coloring, water and vinegar.

Now I have a reason for eating lot’s of egg salad sandwiches!

Leave a Reply

