OCC Class Watercolor for Cardmakers Day 1

Online Card Classes currently has a watercolor class going on. It is Watercolor for Cardmakers: Intermediate Techniques. This class has been a lot of fun so far. I was kind of wondering if it might be a bit to much for me when I first signed up and looked around. Absolutely not. I am thoroughly enjoying it and I was really bummed the 3rd day when I didn’t have time to “go to class”.  Below are some things I worked on for day 1. In summary the first day was about how water and pigment work together, using your brushes and washes. Super cool day!

IMG_9847
This was tracing inside dies that were flowers. Then you practice working with the paints and keeping the shape of your image. Interesting to see how the paints work. I am using Kuretake Gansai Tambi pan watercolors.
IMG_9850
This was practice using the brush to make a geometric pattern and mixing some colors. There were guidelines drawn and then erased after the paint dried.
IMG_9854
This was really a practice sheet. What I thought was pretty cool was the paint blending of two colors and how to draw the pigment out. The super cool and super simple thing was using the side of a wide brush to make a water pattern or maybe a sunset with some clouds.
One thought on “OCC Class Watercolor for Cardmakers Day 1

  1. Wow, Karen, these are cool! I debated signing up for that class and didn’t because I didn’t have the time. Now I wish I had! Have fun in class. Looking forward to seeing the rest of your homework!

    Like

Leave a Reply

