Distress Stencil Background

I wanted to try the Distress Ink background I saw recently on Jennifer McGuire’s website and I read about the technique somewhere else.

So… you ink up the paper by putting the ink pad directly to the paper. I used two of the Distress Ink mini pads (Abandoned Coral & Candied Apples) and it blended together fairly nice.

What is hard to see is that I put the Hero Arts stencil Swirl over the ink and sprayed over it with gold Perfect Pearls. Then you blot the water off a little with paper towels. It should lighten up and show the stencil pattern. It didn’t show up as much as I would have liked nor did it photograph very well but it is there.

The greeting is cut out of the fantastic American Crafts glitter paper with a Simon Says Stamp die (SSSD111559) called Painted Happy Birthday. I like that the sentiment is a little bigger which is great when the background is your focus.

I am entering this card in the Simon Says Stamp Flickr Challenge #37 Anything Goes that you can find here.

blogIMG_9825

Leave a Reply

