Chemex and Coffee Card

?
Chemex coffee maker and a special kettle.

A little bit about the Chemex and the kettle. The Chemex is a great way to make your coffee if you really want a nice cup of coffee. It has a special multi layer paper filter that takes out a lot of the bitterness of the coffee. If you are really into your coffee I highly recommend it. It is not for those who drink half a pot a day but more for a person or two to have one really nice cup of coffee. The special kettle is called a goose neck kettle and really helps with control while pouring the water over the coffee which is important for this style of coffee making. The kettle is not absolutely necessary but does make a difference. My poor electric coffee maker is sad since I have not used it for several months since using the Chemex.

BlogIMG_8839

I made this card as a thank you for someone that gave us a great coffee maker.  As you can see above I love the Chemex. It took me making many different backgrounds to get to this one. So those are saved for other projects.

The background is “water colored” with Distress Ink Vintage Photo. I put the ink pad direct to my non-stick mat and sprayed water on it and then put the already misted watercolor paper down on it. That is also what I did for the blue strip. I used a stamp from the HA set called Not Perfect (CL698) to make the coffee rings. The sentiment is from the Stampin Up stamp set Regular Joe from a few years ago.

For the strip I water colored it as mentioned above with Broken China. I used a Stampin Up stamp called Regular Joe to stamp the coffee beans.

The circle I cut with a Spellbinders die called Big Scalloped Circles (S4-250). I seem to like the bigger scallops rather than the smaller ones. The coffee cup is heat embossed and also a stamp from the Stampin Up set. I colored the cup with Copics. The edge of the circle is inked with Quick Quotes ink called Mocha Mama.

One thought on “Chemex and Coffee Card

Leave a Reply

